Courtney Kalous ’17 Named Lincoln Laureate

Courtney Kalous ’17 Named Lincoln Laureate

Trinity Christian College is pleased to announce Courtney Kalous ’17 has been named this year’s Lincoln Laureate. Kalous will be recognized at the Student Laureate Convocation ceremony on Nov. 12 in Springfield, Ill. “I was overwhelmed to learn I’d been selected,” said Kalous, who is majoring in communications.

The Lincoln Academy’s Abraham Lincoln Civic Engagement Awards are presented for excellence in curricular and extracurricular activities to seniors from each of the state’s four-year, degree-granting colleges and universities, and one student from the community colleges in Illinois. Kalous was selected by Trinity’s Lincoln Laureate committee, which includes faculty, staff, administrators, and students.

“She was selected, on the basis of recommendations from different parts of the campus, because of her stellar academic record, her hearty involvement in campus leadership, and her abilities as a speaker,” said Dr. Craig Mattson, professor of communication arts.

A native of Menomonee Falls, Wis., Kalous is involved with the Student Association, Outcry, and serves as a tour guide for admissions. She also ran track for two years at Trinity.

Kalous said when she initially visited Trinity in high school, she thought the campus might be too small. “But the size of Trinity allows you to find your place,” she said. “You’re not just a face or name in the back of a lecture hall with 300 other students. I’ve felt a real sense of encouragement here.”

Kalous joins a distinguished group of Trinity students as Lincoln Laureates. 

Trinity Christian College Lincoln Laureates

2016 – Courtney Kalous
2015 – Hallie Wisse
2014 – David (Woody) Lucas
2013 – Megan Anderson
2012 – Adam Perez
2011 – Alberto LaRosa
2010 – Joseph Wydra
2009 – Jon Vander Woude
2008 – Caitlin Fillmore
2007 – Elizabeth VanderSpek
2006 – Allison Backous
2005 – Erin Marshalek
2004 – Rachel Van Oort
2003 – Yvana Hansen
2002 – Evan VanderZee
2001 – Nate Bosch
2000 – Laurie Johnson
1999 – Hanna Vancer Zee
1998 – Kristen Devine
1997 – Heidi Boeck
1996 – Julie Tinklenberg
1995 – Keri Dyksterhouse
1994 – Mark Mulder
1993 – Kristen Hart
1992 – Sarah Ver Velde
1991 – Aron Reppmann
1990 – Nathan Van Der Male
1989 – Drew Sweetman
1988 – Erik Hoekstra
1987 – Kimberly Dykema
1986 – Edward Wiener, Jr.