New Student Association Executive Committee Elected

Elections for the 2012-2013 Student Association Executive Committee were recently held, and four new students will represent their peers next year in the executive positions. Elections for the 2012-2013 class representatives were held April 18-19.

Executive Committee
(L-R) Jacob Maatman '14, Megan Kuiper '14, Kathryn Woodside ’15 , and Nate Tameling '14Kathryn Woodside ’15 of Kearney, Nebraska, will serve as the association’s president. Woodside is serving this year as a freshmen representative and a student representative to the General Education Committee. She is double majoring in special education and elementary education and is also involved in Academic Initiative, Service Committee, and the Honor’s Program at Trinity.

Woodside hopes to use this position to increase communication between the students and the association.

Current Student Association President Sam Lankah ’13 passes over the position to Kathryn Woodside ’15 for the 2012-2013 year.

“One of my goals is to improve communication in a way that engages all parties in a proactive discussion to improve life at Trinity,” said Woodside. “Through our collaborative effort, students can be more aware and involved in issues that pertain to them.”

Megan Kuiper ’14 of McBain, Michigan, will serve as next year’s vice president. Kuiper is currently serving as a resident assistant and is majoring in theology and church and ministry leadership. Kuiper also volunteers at an afterschool program, the Good News Club.

Kuiper is excited to improve the role of the Student Association.

“I hope that we can find some new ways to meet the needs of the student body,” said Kuiper. “It will be interesting to find new ways to communicate and grow with the student body, especially as there is a growing number of commuters.”

Nate Tameling ’14 of Burr Ridge, Illinois, will use his business major with a concentration in management to help him take on the role of the association’s treasurer. Tameling is currently a sophomore representative on the Student Association and has served in Hall Council the last two years. He is also a member of the baseball team and Athletics Committee and served on the Student Activities Committee last year.

Jacob Maatman ’14 of Lynwood, Illinois, will be the association’s secretary. In the current school year, Maatman serves as a member of Tibstra’s Hall Council. He is also working on a major in mathematics and philosophy and a minor in physics.

Class Representatives
The Trinity Christian College Student Association thanked the student community for supporting this year’s election, which saw a high turn-out, according to the association.

The 2012-2013 Student Association Sophomore, Junior, and Senior Representatives are:

Adam Frankenfeld of Oskaloosa, Iowa
Rebecca Garcia of Crown Point, Indiana
Megan McDonald of New Lenox, Illinois
Hannah Wasco of Lees Summit, Missouri

Caleb Copeland of Arlington Heights, Illinois
Kirsten Harms of Tinley Park, Illinois
Andy Reidsma of Wyoming, Michigan
Joshua Schumann of Yorkville, Illinois

Erin Boyle of Naperville, Illinois
Kaitlyn Fondrk of Belvidere, Illinois
Joshua Pollema of Rock Valley, Iowa
Megan Regalado of Glendora, California, and Samantha Cechowski of Darien, Illinois