Klootwyk Named Staff Member of the Year

Richard Klootwyk, an integral part of the Trinity community since 2014, was recently announced as the Staff Member of the Year for 2024. His kind, caring nature and commitment to excellence have made Klootwyk a beloved colleague and friend to many at Trinity. As the College’s Mail & Print Services Manager, his attention to detail and planning are evident in all he does, making the campus more efficient and fostering a sense of pride and connection.

Beyond operational excellence, his dedication to customer service is unparalleled. As one nominator stated, “He is always approachable, providing helpful and thoughtful solutions to any challenges that arise.”  Another added, “…I see his patience, caring investment in others, and the professional demeanor that does not lack a sense of joy! I have no doubt that his leadership has impacted and influenced others.”

Klootwyk’s genuine concern for the well-being of his students is evident in their high regard for him as many nominations noted. “[He] goes above and beyond by personally introducing student workers to campus offices, fostering a sense of community, and ensuring they feel supported in their roles. His daily interactions with each student demonstrate an unwavering commitment to their growth and success.”

Another nomination shared insight into Klootwyk’s deep faith, “Richard isn’t only a wonderful manager; he is a precious brother-in-Christ. He is such an encourager and uplifter…His smile is enough to brighten anyone’s day!”

Klootwyk’s impact extends far beyond his daily responsibilities. He embodies the spirit of a successful Trinity employee, and his contributions have been instrumental in advancing the College’s mission and vision.

Klootwyk will be celebrated at the annual Faculty and Staff Awards Luncheon on Tuesday, May 7th.

The Staff Member of the Year Award recognizes the achievements of a distinguished staff member.

Recent award recipients include:

2019: Laura Chávez-Dávalos, Director of the Office of Learning Services

2020: Diana Pell, Administrative Assistant to Faculty

2021: Kris Doorn ‘89, Human Resources Payroll Administrator

2022: Kathy Laning, Student Records Coordinator

2023: Randall Warners ’18, Database Developer